East Kent Masonic Golf Day, Weald of Kent – August 2020

The relaunched EKMGA held its second event of 2020 at the Weald of Kent on Thursday the 27th August. The Covid pandemic has of course hit us all and we thank the Staff at the Weald of Kent for their careful planning to assist with accommodating a field of 63 players

The event saw the hosting of the two main competitions held in the Masonic Year, which were the Geoffrey Gordon Dearing Bowl and the William Blay team tournament.

As the winner at West Malling Derek Reed took the first tee. Fortunately for Derek, the staggered arrival times meant that only a handful saw him top his ball a massive 5ft!

The weather held out until around 3pm with the last 8 groups having to contend with heavy rain for the last part of their round. That said, everyone finished and some good scores came in.


William Blay Team Event:

The event is open to individual lodges and chapters and comprise 4 members from each lodge. The winning team would be the total score of all four players from that lodge or chapter. It has been hotly in previous years with Douglas lodge starting as the hot favourites. We welcomed 9 teams from Alfred Wooten Chapter (127), Ashford Lodge (8945),Douglas Lodge (1725), Kingsgate Lodge, (4882), Malling Centernery Lodge (8068), Maeides Stana Lodge (7868) and the Spirit of Rugby Lodge (9922),

The winners were. Maeides Stanna Lodge (7868) Headed up by Chris Metherell, Keith Miller, Gerry Miller and Bob Appleby

Runners Up were Malling Centenery Lodge (8068) comprising of Paul Routley, Roy Butler, Mick Nash and Kevin Hann.

Geoffrey Gordon Dearing Bowl:

Another hotly contested event with last years winner Daren Horne coming home with a huge 42 points. He sat as clubhouse leader for what seemed an eternity (Listening to faint chants of “its coming home” in his ear from Derek Reed. Then, in came Matt Mitchell from the Spirit of Rugby lodge who, looking like a drowned rat to hand in the winning card. As per the rules laid out by the secretary, there was a consultation and checking of the validity of his proclaimed handicap which was duly supplied and verified. The final results were

Overall Winner Matt Mitchell 44 points

Runner up: Daren Horne 42 points

Third Place: Bob Appleby 40 points

Nearest the pin prizes went to Nigel Mann (6th Hole), Gary Gillesspie (8th Hole), Bob Hinds (13th Hole) and Gary Williamson (16th Hole). The longest Drive went to Matt Mitchell (10th Hole)

Results sheet here:



Our mailing address is:
11 Estuary View Business Park, Boorman Way, Whitstable.  CT5 3SE