Royal Order of Scotland

ROSThe Royal Order of Scotland is the oldest Masonic Order, after the Craft, having originated in London in about 1740 and was then re-introduced in Edinburgh in 1763, becoming a Grand Lodge and Chapter in 1767. The Grand Lodge in Edinburgh controls over ninety Provincial Grand Lodges in many parts of the world. The Order has always claimed that the King of the Scots is the hereditary Grand Master.

The Royal Order comprises two Degrees, namely:

1. The Heredom of Kilwinning, conferred in Provincial Grand Chapter.

2. Knighthood of the Rosy Cross, conferred in Provincial Grand Lodge.

The Ritual has remained unchanged for over 260 years and is recited almost entirely in the form of rhyming catechisms.

Membership of this Christian Order is highly prized and is by strict invitation. A candidate must have a residential or business address in Kent, have been a Master Mason for at least five years and be a member of the Rose Croix  and/or Red Cross of Constantine and/or Knights Templar.

Provincial Grand Lodge of Kent

1st Thursday in February; 3rd Friday in June; 4th Friday in October; Scots Gathering 2nd Friday in December; all in Gillingham.

Grand Lodge meets in Edinburgh on the 1st Friday in July.

Contact Details
Name: Stephen J Austin JP
Position: Provincial Grand Secretary
Telephone: 01303 210119  Mobile: 07801 594652
Website: None

click here for information about the Centres where meetings are held within the boundaries of the East Kent Craft Province.


Contact the Provincial Grand Secretary


7 + 8 =

Pin It on Pinterest