Group Structure

A network of eight area groups in the Province of East Kent was introduced on 1st January 2016. Its purpose is to provide the opportunity for lodges, chapters and Masonic Centres to work more closely together, the better to encourage two-way communication and provide help and assistance as necessary at the local level.

Each group is headed by a Chairman with local knowledge and made up of local coordinators from the following areas of interest: Almoners (lodge & chapter), Charity Stewards (lodge & chapter), Lodge Mentors, Membership Advisors, Media representatives and Chapter Liaison Officers.

Each Group Chairman reports to an Assistant Provincial Grand Master who in turn reports to the Deputy Provincial Grand Master, other than issues relating to the Holy Royal Arch in which case the Group Chairmen reports to the Deputy Grand Superintendent. All matters relating to the Book of Constitutions remain under the auspices of the Provincial Grand Secretary.

In announcing this group structure the Deputy Provincial Grand Master, Peter Williams, stressed that it is not intended as an additional layer of bureaucracy, far from it. It recognises that lodges and chapters in different parts of the Province have differing needs and face different challenges and this structure will provide more help at the local level.

The eight groups are listed below and the names and telephone numbers of the Chairmen can be found by clicking on each one. A contact form for each group is also provided.

Group 1: Gravesend - Hoo - Rochester

28 Lodges and 9 Chapters

APGM: Peter Hagger

Group Chairman: Wayne Smith, 07852-215923

Contact the Group Chairman:-

Group 2: Chatham - Gillingham

27 Lodges and 16 Chapters

APGM: Neil Johnstone

Group Chairman: Peter Rhodes, 07557 992038

Contact the Group Chairman:-

Group 3: Sittingbourne - Sheerness - Wigmore

21 Lodges and 5 Chapters

APGM: David Graeme

Group Chairman: Richard Wingett, 07773 579614

Contact the Group Chairman:-

Group 4: Canterbury - Faversham - Herne Bay - Whitstable

24 Lodges and 8 Chapters

APGM: David Alexander

Group Chairman: Tony Eldridge, 07860 309735

Contact the Group Chairman:-


Group 5: Cranbrook - Paddock Wood - Tovil - West Malling

23 Lodges and 10 Chapters

APGM: Neil Johnstone

Group Chairman: Mark Costelloe  01622743985

Contact the Group Chairman:-


Group 6: Ashford - Dymchurch - Folkestone - Hythe - Sandgate - Tenterden

22 Lodges and 9 Chapters

APGM: Peter Hagger

Group Chairman: Robert Ayling, 07771 730866

Contact the Group Chairman:-

Group 7: Deal - Dover - Sandwich - St Margaret's

24 Lodges and 6 Chapters

APGM: David Graeme

Group Chairman: Steve Salisbury, 07867 973280

Contact the Group:-


Group 8: Birchington - Broadstairs - Margate - Ramsgate - Westgate

15 Lodges and 5 Chapters

APGM: David Alexander

Group Chairman: Terry McGlone, 01843 831611

Contact the Group Chairman:-


Pin It on Pinterest