Mark Dutton wins trophy – George Holdstock loses trousers!

Mark Dutton - winner of the Geoffrey Gordon Dearing Bowl
Peter Shardlow - the runner-up
Roy Butler - winner of the "Longest Drive"

Thunder and lightning interrupted the East Kent Provincial golfing championship at Boughton Golf Club on Thursday 22nd June – the only day in the month when the sun failed to shine – leaving most contestants drenched and bringing a premature end to proceedings for some.

While the atmospherics caused George Holdstock to mislay his trousers, it did not prevent Mark Dutton of Electra Lodge No 5124 emerging at the head of the field to be crowned 2017 Provincial Golf Champion winning the Geoffrey Gordon Dearing Bowl. Mark narrowly beat Peter Shardlow of Chillington Manor Lodge No 4649, a former champion, into second place.

At the post-competition dinner, congratulating him on his achievement, The Provincial Grand Master Geoffrey Dearing presented Mark with the Geoffrey Gordon Dearing Bowl. He also presented the runner-up’s prize to Peter Shardlow, “nearest the pin” prizes to Peter Smith and Adrian Wagstaff, and the longest drive prize to Roy Butler.

Proceedings were brought to a conclusion with Geoffrey presenting George Holdstock, who had graced the dinner table somewhat inadequately attired, with the “longest shorts and shortest socks” prize of a pair of trousers!

Peter Smith - nearest the pin on the 3rd hole
Adrian Wagstaff - nearest the pin on the 14th hole
George Holdstock receiving his much needed pair of trousers

Competition result:

Mark Dutton 36 points

Peter Shardlow 35

Derek Reed 33

Chris Metherell 33

Jeff Turner 32

Bob Appleby 31

Roy Butler 30

Chris Jones 30

Roger North 30

Neville Gallagher 29

Paul Townsend 28

Peter Smith 28

Mark Costello 27

Roger Charter 27

Gerry Miller 27

Alan Murray 26

Peter Mackay 25

Peter Marno 25

Keith Stoner 24

Adrian Wagstaff 24

Ray Kelk 23

George Holdstock 14

Pin It on Pinterest